You have 3 free articles left this month. Get your free Basic subscription now and gain instant access to more.

Romania's Tarom suspends flights to seven countries due to coronavirus restrictions

Romania's Tarom suspends flights to seven countries due to coronavirus restrictions Tarom

BUCHAREST (Romania), July 22 (SeeNews) - Romanian flag carrier Tarom said that it is suspending flights to and from Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Moldova, Serbia, Turkey and Lebanon due to restrictions imposed by the authorities to curb the spread of the new coronavirus disease (Covid-19).

Flights will be suspended until August 15, as tickets can be changed for other dates or reimbursed, Tarom said in a post on social media on Tuesday.

The restrictions on flights to the seven countries do not include cargo, special intervention, medical flights, flights carrying care personnel or seasonal workers in agriculture, or special charter flights such as repatriation flights, the air carrier said.

Earlier this month, Tarom announced that it is bringing back its flights to Greece, as well as the Bucharest-Rome service, in July.

Romania allows travelling to countries in which the average number of new cases registered in the last 14 days is less than five per 1 million inhabitants.

Romania itself has been put on the Covid-19 restrictions list by several countries, after it registered a steady daily increase  in coronavirus infections in the last two weeks. Total coronavirus infection cases in the country have reached 39,133 cases, as 2,074 people have died, according to latest data provided by the health ministry.

According to the foreign affairs ministry website, the following countries have imposed restrictions on arrivals from Romania due to an increase in Covid-19 infections: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, the U.K., Slovakia, Slovenia and Hungary.

Romania is in a state of nationwide alert until August 15.