You have 10 free articles left this month. Get your freeBasic subscription now and gain instant access to more.

W. Balkans countries sign agreement to scrap roaming fees in 2021

Author Radomir Ralev
W. Balkans countries sign agreement to scrap roaming fees in 2021 Source: Serbian Government

BELGRADE (Serbia), April 4 (SeeNews) - The countries of the Western Balkans signed an agreement on Thursday to abolish roaming fees in 2021, the Serbian government said.

The agreement was signed by government officials during the Western Balkans Digital Summit 2019 taking place in Belgrade on April 4 and 5, the Serbian government said in a statement.

Under the agreement, a transition period will start on July 1, 2019 when the roaming fees for calls between Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and North Macedonia will be lowered by 27%, while for Albania the reduction will be 85%.

The prices for a minute of call between the countries will be up to 22.4 Serbian dinars ($0.21/0.19 euro), the maximum price for an SMS will be 7 dinars and the highest price for data transfer will be 21.4 dinars, the government noted.

At the end of 2014, the telecommunications regulators of Serbia, Montenegro, Bosnia and Macedonia signed an agreement to reduce roaming fees for their citizens. The lower roaming fee were introduced on June 30, 2015.

(1 euro = 117.918 dinars)