You have 10 free articles left this month. Get your freeBasic subscription now and gain instant access to more.

Revolut adds support of Apple Pay in 12 EU countries, including four in SEE

Revolut adds support of Apple Pay in 12 EU countries, including four in SEE Photo:Revolut/All rights reserved.

SOFIA (Bulgaria), June 26 (SeeNews) - UK-based fintech company Revolut said on Wednesday that it has added support of the Apple Pay service in 12 EU member states, including Bulgaria, Romania, Slovenia and Croatia.

Customers can use Apple Pay to make payments faster compared to the use of credit or debit cards, as contactless payments can be made via various Apple devices, Revolut said in a statement.

Revolut strives to give its clients a convenient instrument for managing every aspect of their financial life and the opportunity for fast and secure payments is a key moment in achieving this, Arthur Johanet, product owner for card payments at Revolut, said in the statement.

"Our clients from all over Europe have been demanding Apple Pay for a long time, so we are happy to offer this service in Bulgaria as well as in the other countries," Johanet said.

Revolut, founded in 2015 by former investment bankers Nikolay Storontsky and Vladyslav Yatsenko, provides digital alternative of banks - it offers banking services including global money transfers in 29 currencies, ATM withdrawals in 120 currencies, cryptocurrency exchange as well as mobile phone insurance and budgeting services. Revolut says it has attracted investments worth about $340 million (299.2 million euro) up to date and has over 4 million customers worldwide. 

($ = 0.88003 euro)