You have 10 free articles left this month. Get your freeBasic subscription now and gain instant access to more.

Moldova's coalition govt loses no-confidence vote

Moldova's coalition govt loses no-confidence vote Moldovan ex-PM Maia Sandu speaking in parliament ahead of no-confidence vote

CHISINAU (Moldova), November 12 (SeeNews) - The coalition government of Moldova's prime minister Maia Sandu lost a no-confidence vote in parliament on Tuesday requested by the Socialist Party (PSRM), part of the coalition, just after five months in office.

Of 101 MPs present, 63 supported the no-confidence motion according to the official outcome of the vote communicated on the parliament's website.

In order to pass, the motion needed to be backed by at least 51 MPs. The censure motion was voted on by MPs from PSRM and Democratic Party (PDM).

According to Moldovan law, the government must submit its resignation to the president in three days' time.

Political parties now have to try to form a new government within 90 days. If the attempts are unsuccessful, a snap general election must be called.

PSRM announced on Friday it was submitting the censure motion, because prime minister Maia Sandu aimed to take on the powers to nominate the prosecutor general.

The government coalition of PSRM and the pro-EU bloc ACUM has approved a draft legislative amendment that allows Sandu to propose to the Superior Council of Prosecutors a short list of candidates for the post of prosecutor general post, a document posted on the government's website shows. The ACUM bloc comprises the pro-EU Action and Solidarity Party (PAS) led by Maia Sandu and the Dignity and Truth Platform (PPDA) of Andrei Nastase.

PSRM won 35 of 101 seats in parliament in the general elections in February. Moldova's Democratic Party (PDM) followed with 30 mandates, while the ACUM bloc came third with 26 seats. The fourth political force which passed the 6% threshold to enter parliament was Sor Party led by businessman Ilan Sor, with seven seats. The three remaining mandates went to independent MPs.

The coalition cabinet led by Maia Sandu has been in power since June, when PSRM agreed to govern together with ACUM, ending months of political uncertainty after the inconclusive elections led to a hung parliament.